Engine Removal, 2000 GLS Turbo - NewBeetle.org Forums
NewBeetle.org Forums
Go Back   NewBeetle.org Home > NewBeetle.org Forums > Discussion - Technical > 1.8 Liter Turbo

1.8 Liter Turbo Discussion area for the 1.8 liter turbocharged engine.

NewBeetle.org is the premier Volkswagen Beetle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2007, 12:55 AM

Default Engine Removal, 2000 GLS Turbo

I just bought a 2000 beetle GLS turbo with all the options, but broken timing belt. I was wondering how to go about pulling the engine out? I was looking and didnt know if it had to come out the bottom or top (i would prefer the top or front), or if i can take the whole front of the car off like they do on minivans and pull it out the front. I was a GM tech for a few years before going for a change of careers, i have a 4 post lift in my garage where the car sits. I was hoping that you VW experts can help steer me in the "correct" direction. I am not looking to cut corners to come out cheap. The car is for my wife and we already have a drag car and was looking for something fun and reliable, not overly modded. Here is what i was looking to do.
1.) Pull engine, hone, hot tank, rebuild stock,maybe mild port matching.
2.) New Exhaust, Downpipe, and maybe try the diode mod on MAP sensor.

Now here is where i lack experience.
-How much boost can i run on this tiny hairdryer turbo?
-Should i get a MBC or will the diode mod up the boost on the electronic solenoid, or can i just tighten the WG actuator rod?
-I have a WB02 LM-1 i use on my other car to check the AFR if needed.
-I do not want ot change injectors, fuel pressure reg...etc, basically just stock, is it possible to do this or will the car not have the fueling and to much timing for over stock boost (i dont even know what that is).
-What clucth? ACT (pref street version, stg 1)??