VW Beetle Forum banner

New Turbo S questions

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  mat3833 
#1 · (Edited)
New Turbo S questions.

My background is that I know basics of how cars run. I have tuned a supercharged engine so I am familiar with boost. However, I am brand new to Beetles and especially turbos. I get the concepts, I just have no experience with them - YET. :p

My car came with some chip tuning. Lets start there. It was a level one ecu reprogramming by (dare I say) EIP. I'd like to learn more about this mod but since they are gone (no need to explain) where can I get info on what they may have done?

My car has a greddy (I think) blow off valve - or is that called a bypass valve? Anyway I hear the boost release when I let off the gas. I don't think stock cars do that - or is it just less noticeable? What I am also noticing and is my main question is that when I give part throttle - enough to create boost - I feel the boost initially but then it goes away while my foot remains at the same part throttle position.

A possible reason for this is that as the car accelerates (moderately) the load gradually lessens on the motor. Less load = more vacuum which eventually signals the valve to vent (recirculate I hope) the boost even though I have not lifted my foot from the part throttle position. I hope you are still with me. This makes sense (to me) so far. IMHO, the boost seems to disappear too quickly. I am not familiar with how quick is quick for the boost to "run out". Can anyone try to explain?

Keep in mind I am talking about part throttle. Under full hard acceleration the boost remains for a much longer time. It just seems like as I shift I'm constantly in and out of boost and it is really noticeable. Is this normal (considering the mods)? What should I expect?

Thanks for your thoughts on this.

Gen

See less See more
#2 ·
Hello and welcome.:wave3: