rough idle at low rpm - NewBeetle.org Forums
NewBeetle.org Forums
Go Back   NewBeetle.org Home > NewBeetle.org Forums > Discussion - Technical > 2.0 Liter Gas

2.0 Liter Gas Discussion area for the venerable 2.0 liter 4-cylinder engine.

NewBeetle.org is the premier Volkswagen Beetle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2010, 10:35 PM

Car: 1998 2.0
Default rough idle at low rpm

I am very new to Beetles and have come across a problem that I cannot diagnose. When I started the car this morning (it was very damp and had been raining ) it idled very rough and coughed and sputtered at anything below 2000 rpm. It was low on fuel so I added some "heat" to absorb any water due to condensation, but the rough idle still continues. I checked for codes and there was nothing present. Could this be a moisture issue in the fuel or something more?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-05-2010, 10:43 PM

Sounds like a crack in your coil pack. Any CEL's? Many threads on this issue. Easy change out and available part.
Franco
Old 04-05-2010, 10:55 PM

No CEL's at the moment. This was a sudden onset, it drove just fine last night
Old 04-05-2010, 11:07 PM

With the rain/moister you're having a hairline crack in your coil pack will make your Beetle do the things you're talking about with no codes. I'm almost 100% sure it's your coil pack.
Franco
Old 04-05-2010, 11:31 PM

Is this an expensive part or particularly difficult to change? I am relatively capable at most auto repairs, but the Beetle has me a little intimidated due to its tight engine compartment.
Old 04-05-2010, 11:44 PM

Easy replacement. Remove dip stick and engine cover and you'll see the coil pack with your spark plug wires. If i remember it's one connection and three bolts(allen wrench) that keeps it together. Remove and replace. Here is a link to parts or check your dealer.