steering rack replacement - NewBeetle.org Forums
NewBeetle.org Forums
Go Back   NewBeetle.org Home > NewBeetle.org Forums > Discussion - Technical > Questions, Issues, Concerns, or Problems with the New Beetle

Questions, Issues, Concerns, or Problems with the New Beetle General discussion of New Beetle features, problems, and issues.

NewBeetle.org is the premier Volkswagen Beetle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2006, 01:24 AM

Car: 1998 2L Black
Default steering rack replacement

Hi,

I'm a newbie, had a look but can not find a how to!! Want to replace the power steering rack on a 98 new beetle ( well dont want to have to Any help greatly received. I have the VW NB Service manual which shows me an exploded picture of the rack and helpfully tells me that no internal parts are user servicable so replace the rack but it fails to describe this task, unless of course the section for this is not in the steering chapter!

Nij
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2006, 06:09 AM
Super Moderator

Car: 2002 New Beetle 1.8T GLX

unhappybug, I am sending this thread to a better forum, for specific traffic for your issue. Good luck to you, and Welcome to the Org!
2005 NBC 1.8T- Tornado Red
2006 Passat 2.0T- Blue Graphite
2003 NB Turbo S - UniRed
2005 V6 Touareg V6 - Campanella White
Currently:
2002 NB GLX 1.8T - White Paint
Old 11-09-2006, 01:12 PM
Administrator

Car: 2000 GLX Tekno-Blue/Grey 1.8t 5-spd

You'll probably want to pull a wheel, maybe both. Use jackstands, I think you'll need to lower the subframe a bit to wiggle it out.

There's 4 bolts holding the rack to the subframe; .. And ... now that you mention it... I realize I have no idea how the power steering pump comes into the picture. :/

Anyway...