$300 to replace oil pan, HELP!!!!! - NewBeetle.org Forums
NewBeetle.org Forums
Go Back   NewBeetle.org Home > NewBeetle.org Forums > Discussion - Technical > Questions, Issues, Concerns, or Problems with the New Beetle

Questions, Issues, Concerns, or Problems with the New Beetle General discussion of New Beetle features, problems, and issues.

NewBeetle.org is the premier Volkswagen Beetle Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2007, 02:37 PM

Unhappy $300 to replace oil pan, HELP!!!!!

I tried to get my oil changed and the mechanic said that I need a new oil pan. I am not an expert or anything when it comes to cars but I asked around and everyone I asked said wow your car only has like sixty something miles on it you shouldn't need a oil pan. Well I tried to take my car to another place to get an oil change later on down the line and they said they couldn't do it cus the other mechanic put a bigger drain plug in and they couldn't get it out!!!

I went back to the mechanic and he said i told you you need a new oil pan so we tried to plug it up so you wouldn't leak oil. He then told me he might not be able to do an oil change until I get an oil pan. What do I do guys? I can't continue to drive around without an oil change waiting for my engine to blow out and I don't have that type of money right now to get a new oil pan. Are oil pans really that expensive!!!

Thanx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2007, 02:46 PM
Member Sponsor

Car: 2000 Black GLS 2.0 5-spd

We need some information on your car, like year and engine. If it's just leaking around the fill hole then you should just be able to get it taped for a bigger drain plugg and be done with it.

Want something to give charactre to your bug, check this out
Old 04-12-2007, 03:16 PM
Cherchez la coeur...

Car: Oso - a black 99 GLS TDI